More coursework: 1 - A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I - J | K - L | M | N - O | P - S | T | U - Y



In the early parts of my life, I learned about all of the laws that restrict our actions, as practitioners of Buddhism. I was educated about the four basic truths that all Buddhists believe. The four basic truths are Dukkha, Samudaya, Nirodha, and Marga (Anderson 24). Dukkha, or its meaning in English, suffering, tells of all the frustration in life. In order to find the end of suffering, I found that one must review the purpose for the suffering to being in one’s life (Harvey 49). the second holy truth, Samudaya deals with the origin of suffering. In my studies and from what material I was instructed, I learnedin order to deal with suffering one must find out its cause in their life. After one has found the cause, then we can begin to do something about it ( "Four Noble Truths Part I" 3). Nirodha, the third truth, is the extinction of suffering. To be able to end the sufferingone must think that the suffering can end and have confidence in attaining the end of suffering ( "Four Noble Truths Part I" 5/6). Marga, or the fourth noble truth is also known as the eight-fold path. Avoiding indulgences in pleasure and temptation are the ways to walk down this path ( "Four Noble Truths Part II" 3). As I was instructed on the eight-fold path I learned that in order to attain the end of suffering I needed to have all of the "right" pieces of the puzzle. These are right understanding, thought, speech, action, livelihook, effort, mindfulness, and concentration ("Buddhist Teachings" 1).

In my religion we have a code of ethics that tells our followers to avoid stealing, lying, killing all living organisms, committing improper sexual activity, and destructive occupations (Anderson 26/27). the five governing precepts explain more in depth about the code of ethics. The first precpt says to refrain form taking life away from all that are breathing (Harvey 202). I and many other followers are vegetarians because of this precept. In the second precept stealing is prohibited. Improper sexual activity is covered in the third precept. In it, it tells us that sexual activity is only to be used in order to conceive children. Polygamy, adultery, and incest are also forbidden in this precept. Lying, or as the fourth precept calls it, false speech is also forbidden (Harvey 206). The fifth precept covers alcohol and improper drug use. It is said that if one breaks this precept that person is more likely to break any or all of the previous precepts (Harvey 207).

In my family we go by the Buddhist values and traditions. Parents have special duties that they have to do for their children. My parents trained me to my father’s profession, found a suitable marriage for myself, and they gave me my inheritance at the time that they felt was suitable (Harvey 213). As their child, I also had duties for my parents, but only when I grew old enough to take responsibility for them. My duties included to keep the family name or lineage, the tradition in the family, to be worthy of my heritage, and to give alms on their behalf when they die (Harvey 213). Marriages are arranged by the parents because of the thought that because the parents have more experience in life and can pick a better mate for their child. Even though the parents arrange thethe marriages, each person of the impending marriage has the choice to either agree to the marriage or to say no and not marry that person (Penney 46). Weddings take place in the bride’s home. Most are usually performed by a male in the family. The two people getting married exchange rings and the thumbs of both right hands are tied together. It is a symbol of being tyed together forever as husband and wife. The ceremony is then ended with a promise of respect, love and faithfulness. After the wedding, celebrations go on for days (Penney 46). When a person dies in our family, we either go through on or the other way of putting the dead to rest. It is not a sad event because of our belief in rebirth. A monk will come and give a talk about the after death. The five precepts and three Jewels are repeated. The body is usually cremated in this ceremony(Penney 46/47). Another method of putting the dead to rest is to keep it around for a couple of days and after proper rituals are performed, then the body is carried to a certain area where it is left for the scavenger animals(Anderson 150).</< p>

About this resource

This coursework was submitted to us by a student in order to help you with your studies.

Search our content:

  • Download this page
  • Print this page
  • Search again

  • Word count:

    This page has approximately words.



    If you use part of this page in your own work, you need to provide a citation, as follows:

    Essay UK, Budddhism. Available from: <> [31-05-20].

    More information:

    If you are the original author of this content and no longer wish to have it published on our website then please click on the link below to request removal: