More coursework: 1 - A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I - J | K - L | M | N - O | P - S | T | U - Y


The Iroquois is a tribe of the Eastern Woodland indians. The Iroquois is one tribe that is seperated

into five groups. These groups are called , Seneca , Cayuga , Onondags , Oneida , and Mohawk. In the

eigh-teenth century Tuscarora became another one of the five groups. Those are the six Iroquoisan

tribe groups.

The Iroquois indians are located in the northern part of New York.They are also located by one of the

Great Lakes , Lake Superior.Being near Lake Superior can help the tribe. The men can go fishing or

hunting. This helps get food.


The Iroquois indians lived in long house. The house name is called "longhouse." The longhouse held up

to six to seven families at one time. In the longhouses the Iroquois held meeting about making "peace." In a


peace conference they would pick male sachems , or peace chief.

I Kris Kleen give away all copyrights to cheathouse

Source: Essay UK -

About this resource

This coursework was submitted to us by a student in order to help you with your studies.

Search our content:

  • Download this page
  • Print this page
  • Search again

  • Word count:

    This page has approximately words.



    If you use part of this page in your own work, you need to provide a citation, as follows:

    Essay UK, Indians. Available from: <> [05-06-20].

    More information:

    If you are the original author of this content and no longer wish to have it published on our website then please click on the link below to request removal: